Possession of Marijuana
Marijuana (aka tetrahydrocannabinol, or THC) is very popular in all parts of the world. It is a milder drug and is often times cheaper and easier to come by than other substances. It is, however, illegal in many parts of the US, and the possession, sale, purchase, or use of this drug is considered a criminal offense in these places. America is so widely varied on the subject, however, that the punishment and legality of THC is decided by the state. In California, medical marijuana is allowed. In Wisconsin, however, the possession of marijuana is highly illegal.
In Wisconsin, the first offense of marijuana possession is considered a misdemeanor. After that, if you are caught again with this drug, you have committed a felony. The punishment for possession of marijuana is as follows:
- First Offense: 6 months incarceration and a fine of $1000
- Second or any Subsequent Offense: 3.5 years incarceration and a fine of $10,000
Know Your Rights
As one can see, marijuana possession is a very serious offense in Wisconsin. If you have been accused of having THC in your control, you should be aware of your rights as an individual. Officers must have a search warrant before going through your possessions. If they ask to search your home without this warrant, you do not have to consent. You don’t have to speak with them without an attorney present. Finally, if you are not under arrest or have been otherwise detained, you have the right to leave.
If you have been charged with possession of marijuana, a Milwaukee criminal defense lawyer from Hart Powell, S.C. can help you. Do not hesitate to contact a Hart Powell, S.C. attorney at (414) 271-9595 today.
Written by Michael Hart & Craig PowellLast Updated : January 14, 2016